Ace Utilities v5.3.0

Suggest new features for future releases, participate in beta tests and share the results
Aneesh
Site Admin
Posts: 898
Joined: Mon Aug 04, 2003 7:12 am

Re: Ace Utilities v5.3.0 RC5

Post by Aneesh » Sun Dec 02, 2012 10:27 am

saad wrote:Few questions.

Does the Backup location change only on fresh installs of Ace Utilities?
Do "Over the top" upgrades retain the original location (%Documents%) of the backups?
You can view/explore the 'current backup location' by opening the 'Restore' tool and clicking on 'Clean System Registry', 'Remove junk files', Find Duplicate Files'.

If the backup location displayed there is the new one, then the previous backup files need to be copied to this new location. Other wise those old files will not be displayed in the 'Restore' tool.

If you have customized the backup location in one of the earlier versions of Ace Utilities - say v5.2.5, then the backup location will continue as it is.
Regards,
Aneesh,
Acelogix Software Team.

Aneesh
Site Admin
Posts: 898
Joined: Mon Aug 04, 2003 7:12 am

Re: Ace Utilities v5.3.0 RC5

Post by Aneesh » Sun Dec 02, 2012 10:35 am

saad wrote:I have a Windows 8 64-bit system. 'Fix Invalid Shortcuts' finds some valid shortcuts.
snapshot.jpg
Will check it, Tx.
Regards,
Aneesh,
Acelogix Software Team.

siliconman01
Posts: 118
Joined: Sat Aug 25, 2007 9:09 am

Re: Ace Utilities v5.3.0 RC5

Post by siliconman01 » Tue Dec 04, 2012 7:11 pm

This is on Windows 7 SP1 x86 and x64 Professional with AU V5.3 RC5.

On performing a "fresh/clean install", the installer wizard needs to create the \Users\UserName\Local\AceLogix\Ace Utilities\Backup folder on the initial installation. With the actual Backup folder missing, the first time a user runs AU registry cleaner, it will attempt to remove the RegBakFolder registry key from the Settings registry key because there is no Backup folder.

I'm referring to the RegBakFolder variable highlighted below. This is also in HKCU\Software\Acelogix..............

Windows Registry Editor Version 5.00

[HKEY_USERS\S-1-5-21-2747853139-2981246509-4127024655-1000\Software\Acelogix\Ace Utilities\Settings]
"SkipUAC"=dword:00000001
"FirstTimeUp"=dword:00000000
"LastSRPoint"=hex:a8,34,be,50,00,00,00,00
"Expert"=dword:00000001
"LastUpdate"=hex:1b,cf,b9,50,00,00,00,00
"UsageHistory"=hex:00,20,00,00,00,00,00,00,8c,4b,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,\
00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,\
00,00,00,03,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,5e,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,\
00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,\
00,34,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,7b,49,be,50,00,00,00,00,01,00,00,00,00,00,00,00
"Global"=hex:00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,01,01,01,01,01,01,01,00,01,01,00,\
00,01,01,01,01,01,01,01,01,01,02,01,01,01,01,00,00,00,00,00,00,01,01,00,00,\
00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,\
00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,\
00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,\
00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,\
00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,\
00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,\
00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,\
00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,\
00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,\
00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,\
00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,\
00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,\
00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,\
00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,\
00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,\
00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,\
00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,\
00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,\
00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00
"SettingsReg"=dword:0000000f
"reg_bak_format"=dword:00000000
"CreateSRPoint"=dword:00000001
"registryscanthorough"=dword:00000001
"reg_bak_count"=dword:00000005
"ScanOnlyStartMenu"=dword:00000000
"ScanEmptyStartMenuFolders"=dword:00000000
"DriveShortCuts"=dword:00000004
"ConfirmDeletions"=dword:00000001
"ConfirmReboot"=dword:00000001
"RemindToUpdateCheck"=dword:fffffff9
"GroupdHeaderState"=dword:00000000
"Theme"="PitchBlack"
"autostartscan"=dword:00000001
"messageautodelcheck1"=dword:00000000
"JmpLstUser"=hex(7):00,00
"JmpLst"="jrhsaduczke"
"RegScanOption"=dword:000fffff
"RegBakFolder"="C:\\Users\\Tom\\AppData\\Local\\Acelogix\\Ace Utilities\\Backups"
Last edited by siliconman01 on Tue Dec 04, 2012 8:11 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Home Built ASUS ROG Maximus Extreme; Dell XPS 8700; Dell XPS 15 (9575) 2in1- all with Windows 10 x64 Professional.

siliconman01
Posts: 118
Joined: Sat Aug 25, 2007 9:09 am

Re: Ace Utilities v5.3.0 RC5

Post by siliconman01 » Tue Dec 04, 2012 7:41 pm

This applies to Windows 7 SP1 x86 and x64 Professional with AU RC5.

When you open an AU utility such as Registry Cleaner or Startup Manager via Start>Programs>Ace Utilities>Utilities, the AU main window remains open when you close the selected utility. Closing the selected utility should completely exit AU.

The Arg for these shortcuts is opentool:a, opentool:r, etc. in the Start menu. It appears to me that they should be launch:a, launch:r, etc. In my opinion, these utility shortcuts should let users go directly to the task, perform whatever for that task, and then exit AU promptly.
Last edited by siliconman01 on Wed Dec 05, 2012 8:33 am, edited 1 time in total.
Home Built ASUS ROG Maximus Extreme; Dell XPS 8700; Dell XPS 15 (9575) 2in1- all with Windows 10 x64 Professional.

Aneesh
Site Admin
Posts: 898
Joined: Mon Aug 04, 2003 7:12 am

Re: Ace Utilities v5.3.0 RC5

Post by Aneesh » Wed Dec 05, 2012 8:04 am

siliconman01 wrote:This is on Windows 7 SP1 x86 and x64 Professional with AU V5.3 RC5.

On performing a "fresh/clean install", the installer wizard needs to create the \Users\UserName\Local\AceLogix\Ace Utilities\Backup folder on the initial installation. With the actual Backup folder missing, the first time a user runs AU registry cleaner, it will attempt to remove the RegBakFolder registry key from the Settings registry key because there is no Backup folder.

I'm referring to the RegBakFolder variable highlighted below. This is also in HKCU\Software\Acelogix..............
On a clean install, there is no 'RegBakFolder' in the registry. There will be no such key until the user, for the first time, goes to the 'Options > Clean System Registry' and clicks 'OK'.

If there is no path set in the registry, the Clean System Registry will 'fall back' to the default 'localappdata' folder.
Regards,
Aneesh,
Acelogix Software Team.

Aneesh
Site Admin
Posts: 898
Joined: Mon Aug 04, 2003 7:12 am

Re: Ace Utilities v5.3.0 RC5

Post by Aneesh » Wed Dec 05, 2012 8:05 am

siliconman01 wrote:This applies to Windows 7 SP1 x86 and x64 Professional with AU RC5.

When you open an AU utility such as Registry Cleaner or Startup Manager via Start>Programs>Ace Utilities>Utilities, the AU main window remains open when you close the selected utility. Closing the selected utility should completely exit AU.

The Arg for these shortcuts is opentool:a, opentool:r, etc. in the Start menu. It appears to me that they should be launch:a, launch:r, etc. In my opinion, these utility shortcuts should let users go directly to the task, perform whatever for the that task, and then exit AU promptly.
Will check that. Tx.
Regards,
Aneesh,
Acelogix Software Team.

siliconman01
Posts: 118
Joined: Sat Aug 25, 2007 9:09 am

Re: Ace Utilities v5.3.0 RC5

Post by siliconman01 » Wed Dec 05, 2012 8:32 am

Aneesh wrote: On a clean install, there is no 'RegBakFolder' in the registry. There will be no such key until the user, for the first time, goes to the 'Options > Clean System Registry' and clicks 'OK'.

If there is no path set in the registry, the Clean System Registry will 'fall back' to the default 'localappdata' folder.
ahhhh.... now I see how RegBakFolder is getting initially set up on my systems. I am doing an Import Preferences immediately following the fresh/clean install and that is putting RegBakFolder in the Settings key before I do the first registry cleaning.
Home Built ASUS ROG Maximus Extreme; Dell XPS 8700; Dell XPS 15 (9575) 2in1- all with Windows 10 x64 Professional.

Aneesh
Site Admin
Posts: 898
Joined: Mon Aug 04, 2003 7:12 am

Re: Ace Utilities v5.3.0

Post by Aneesh » Mon Dec 10, 2012 9:06 am

Dec 10, 2012 : Ace Utilities v5.3.0.485 Released.

What's new in Ace Utilities v5.3.0?
http://acelogix.com/au_whatsnew.html

Download:
http://acelogix.com/download.html
http://acelogix.com/download2.html
Regards,
Aneesh,
Acelogix Software Team.

siliconman01
Posts: 118
Joined: Sat Aug 25, 2007 9:09 am

Re: Ace Utilities v5.3.0

Post by siliconman01 » Mon Dec 10, 2012 4:07 pm

It looks like every item I posted as bugs in RC5 got repaired for the gold release EXCEPT the icon for the Registry Defrag in the Start Menu.

In START>Ace Utilities>Utilities, "Registry Compactor" has the same icon as "Registry Cleaner". RC.exe in the main Ace Utilities folder under C:\Program Files has a different and unique icon for Registry Compactor.
Home Built ASUS ROG Maximus Extreme; Dell XPS 8700; Dell XPS 15 (9575) 2in1- all with Windows 10 x64 Professional.

FAM07
Posts: 114
Joined: Fri Jul 06, 2007 12:51 pm

Re: Ace Utilities v5.3.0 RC4

Post by FAM07 » Mon Feb 18, 2013 5:16 pm

[quote="Aneesh"][quote="FAM07"]Hi,
Here are my questions (RC4):
1- Is there any form to avoid the groups of files or keys that the results show after a scan, for example setting it in Options?
2- When it is opened a group, the found elements appear highlighted (blue), is it a bug?
Thanks.[/quote]

Also, you can disable 'grouping' by going to the 'View' menu of the tool and unchecking the 'Enable groups' option. The down side is this change has to be made every time. :--|[/quote]


Hi, I discovered the option "Show groups expanded" (AU 5.3.0) in Options/View, therefore the point 1 is resolved. And the feature of point 2 now does not appear. Very good!

Post Reply